Auguste Mercier (1833 - 1921)

Auguste Mercier

Antidreyfusard

Officers

The first public accuser of Captain Dreyfus, on 28 November 1894, and the coordinator of the anti-Dreyfusards at the Rennes trial, Auguste Mercier was born in Arras in the Pas-de-Calais on 8 December 1833.

Mercier was an officer's son. He graduated from the Ecole Polytechnique in 1856 and was made a lieutenant in 1856. Captain Mercier served the General Staff Office in matters of artillery starting in 1864. As a lieutenant colonel in 1876, he was noted for his "cold and resolved character." A colonel in 1879, he was brigadier general when he became director of administrative services at the War Ministry on 27 December 1884. He remained in this post until January 1886, and performed its duties again from April 1888 to February 1890. It was as a man of the war offices that he was appointed War Minister on 3 December 1893.

As the press denounced the "Ramollot of the War Ministry," he stated, with respect to Dreyfus, "the guilt of this officer is absolutely certain" and pronounced what Le Gaulois called "a veritable conviction, a death sentence," adding "what freedom will the court martial have who will be called on to judge the defendant?" Michel Drouin wrote that he was stacking the deck; on 12 February 1898, at the Zola trial, Jaurès denounced him for having dared, by the communication of secret documents, "to take it upon himself (…) to decide on the life, the freedom, and the honor of another man."

Although he was no longer minister as of 24 January 1895, he directed the witnesses for the prosecution at the Rennes trial in the same manner. As a Grand Officer of the Legion of Honor as of February 1895, a member of the Supreme War Council from March 1898, and a major general, he was the incarnation of the power of the "Sacred Ark," the French Army that public opinion hoped would avenge the disaster of Sedan and take back its lost provinces.

Elected senator from the Lower Loire on 28 January 1900, he was protected by the amnesty law. Before the Court of Cassation in 1904, he denied the existence of a document "bearing, in the handwriting of a foreign sovereign, an annotation implicating Dreyfus." However, in 1906, speaking of the secret dossier given to the court martial, public prosecutor Baudoin evoked a "monstrous violation of the inalienable rights of the defense." Exonerating the Rennes judges for not having grasped the flagrant illegality of which they were the tools, he emphasized the responsibility of General Mercier, proven, in this reprehensible act, by "the precautions that he took to ensure that the evidence would remain forever unknown and that he would thereby acquire impunity."

He remained the hero of the anti-Dreyfusards, and received from them a gold medal on 29 June 1907, and a seat in the Senate until 10 January 1920. He died in Paris on 3 March 1921; when the seals were removed from his house, it was found to contain "no papers of a military character of any interest."

Auguste Mercier (1833 - 1921)

Auguste Mercier

Antidreyfusard

Officiers

Premier accusateur public du capitaine Dreyfus, dès le 28 novembre 1894 et coordonnateur des antidreyfusards au procès de Rennes, Auguste Mercier était né dans le Pas-de-Calais, à Arras, le 8 décembre 1833.

Fils d'officier, polytechnicien en 1852, lieutenant en 1856, le capitaine Mercier sert à l'état-major particulier de l'artillerie dès 1864. Lieutenant-colonel en 1876, il est remarqué pour son « caractère froid et ferme ». Colonel en 1879, il est général de brigade quand il devient directeur des services administratifs du ministère, le 27 décembre 1884. Il conserve cette fonction jusqu'en janvier 1886 et la retrouve d'avril 1888 à février 1890 ; c'est en homme des bureaux qu'il accède au poste de ministre de la Guerre le 3 décembre 1893.

La presse dénonçant le « Ramollot de la Guerre », il déclare, à propos de Dreyfus, « la culpabilité de cet officier est absolument certaine » et prononce ce que Le Gaulois désigne comme « une véritable condamnation, un arrêt de mort », ajoutant « quelle liberté restera-t-il au conseil de guerre qui va être appelé à juger ce prévenu ? ». Michel Drouin a pu écrire qu'il pipait les dés ; dès le 12 février 1898, au procès Zola, Jaurès l'avait dénoncé pour avoir osé, par la transmission des pièces secrètes, « assumer sur sa seule conscience (...) de décider de la vie, de la liberté, de l'honneur d'un autre homme ».

Bien qu'il ait cessé d'être ministre dès le 24 janvier 1895, il dirige de la même façon les témoins de l'accusation au procès de Rennes. Fait Grand officier de la Légion d'honneur dès février 1895, membre du Conseil supérieur de la guerre depuis mars 1898 et général de division, il incarne la puissance de « l'Arche sainte », cette armée française dont l'opinion espère qu'elle vengera le désastre de Sedan et reprendra les provinces perdues.

Élu sénateur de Loire-Inférieure le 28 janvier 1900, la loi d'amnistie le protège. Devant la Cour de cassation, en 1904, il dément l'existence du document « portant de la main d'un souverain étranger une annotation accusatrice contre Dreyfus ». Mais, évoquant le dossier secret transmis au premier Conseil de guerre, le procureur général Baudoin parle, en 1906, d'une « monstrueuse violation des droits imprescriptibles de la défense » ; exonérant les juges de Rennes de n'avoir pas apprécié l'illégalité flagrante dont ils furent les instruments, il souligne la responsabilité du général Mercier prouvée, dans cet acte condamnable, par « les précautions qu'il a prises pour que le fait restât à jamais inconnu et que l'impunité lui fût acquise ».

Resté l'idole des antidreyfusards, il reçoit d'eux, le 29 juin 1907, une médaille d'or et siège au Sénat jusqu'au 10 janvier 1920. Il meurt à Paris le 3 mars 1921 ; la levée des scellés permet de constater qu'il n'avait à son domicile « aucun papier de caractère militaire intéressant ».