Charles Maurras (1868 - 1952)

Portrait of Charles Maurras

Antidreyfusard

Journalists & intellectuals

Charles Maurras became an anti-Dreyfusard to defend the Army, "the guarantor of the nation's survival." He was born in Martigues in the department of Bouches-du-Rhône on 18 April 1868.

The son of a tax collector, Maurras began his professional life as a journalist for L'Observateur Français in Paris, where he published some 170 articles by the summer of 1891, while at the same time beginning to work with the royalist review Gazette de France. In November 1897, he considered that "the specific interests of the condemned man cannot be weighed against those of the French Army," and established himself as an anti-Dreyfusard, thus breaking with Barrès that "the entire party of Dreyfus deserves to be put in front of a firing squad like rebels." He saw only danger to the nation from "cosmopolitan anarchists, anti-patriotic socialists, Jews and Protestants."

In the fall of 1898, he defended the forgery of Colonel Henry, "a simple public reproduction, like a popular novel, but absolutely true," a falsification that was useful because "when it comes to certain subjects the crowd is a child, and public opinion is a minor."

Maurras created Action Française in July 1899, supposedly to defend the "true country" against Jews, freemasons, Protestants and those of mixed blood. After the rehabilitation degree, his supporters reconstructed the history of the Affair, in the same way as they sought to reconstruct the history of France in order to substitute "the desirable for the sadly real." Despite the condemnation of his movement by the Pope in 1926, his influence on the French right remained strong, and contributed to his election to the Académie Française in 1938.

After the "divine surprise" of the collapse of the Third Republic and his collaboration with the enemy, Maurras was sentenced to life imprisonment by the Rhone Court of Justice on 27 January 1945, proclaiming "this is the revenge of Dreyfus." Pardoned in March 1952, he died in Tours on 16 November of the same year.

Charles Maurras (1868 - 1952)

Portrait de Charles Maurras

Antidreyfusard

Journalistes et intellectuels

Devenu antidreyfusard pour défendre l'Armée, « garante de la survie de la nation », Charles Maurras était né à Martigues dans les Bouches-du-Rhône, le 18 avril 1868.

Fils de percepteur, il commence une activité de journaliste parisien à L'Observateur français où il publie quelque 170 articles avant l'été 1891, tout en commençant sa collaboration avec la Gazette de France, revue royaliste. En novembre 1897, il considère que « les intérêts particuliers du condamné ne (peuvent) être mis en balance avec ceux de l'armée française » et s'affirme comme antidreyfusard, rompant avec Anatole France. Le 2 décembre, il écrit à Barrès que le « parti de Dreyfus mériterait qu'on le fusillât tout entier comme insurgé »; il n'y voit que la mise en danger de la nation par des « anarchistes cosmopolites, des socialistes antipatriotes, des Juifs, des protestants ».

À l'automne 1898, il défend le faux du colonel Henry, « simple reproduction publique, comme l'édition populaire, d'une vérité absolue », une falsification utile parce qu'en « certains sujets la foule est une enfant et l'opinion publique une véritable mineure ».

Maurras crée l'Action française en juillet 1899 ; il prétend défendre le « pays réel » contre les juifs, les francs-maçons, les protestants et les métèques. Après l'arrêt de réhabilitation, ses partisans reconstruisent l'histoire de l'Affaire comme ils chercheront à reconstruire l'histoire de France pour substituer « le désirable au triste réel ». Malgré la condamnation de son mouvement par le Pape en 1926, son influence sur les droites françaises reste forte et contribue à son élection à l'Académie française, en 1938.

Après la divine surprise de l'effondrement de la IIIe République et sa collaboration avec l'ennemi, Maurras est condamné à la réclusion à perpétuité par la cour de justice du Rhône, le 27 janvier 1945 ; il s'écrie :« c'est la revanche de Dreyfus ». Gracié en mars 1952, il meurt à Tours le 16 novembre suivant.