Edgar Demange (1841 - 1925)

Edgar Demange

Dreyfusard

Judges & lawyers

Edgar Demange was born in Paris in 1841. He was Dreyfus's lawyer for both convictions, and his speeches for the defense that emphasized reasonable doubt did not succeed in stopping the verdicts of the court martials in Paris and Rennes.

An officer's son, this Catholic lawyer and member of the Bar Council from 1888 to 1892, Demange managed to obtain the acquittal of the Marquis de Morès, after the marquis had killed Captain Mayer in a duel, when Mayer was seeking to avenge the honor of 300 Jewish officers who had been insulted by anti-Semites. Demange's name was suggested to Dreyfus by Waldeck-Rousseau, and he accepted, on condition that he not find in the case a charge that could make him doubt the innocence of his client.

He was only given access to the documents accusing the captain on 4 December 1894, after the investigation was closed. He noted that the witnesses for the prosecution brought no proof, and confided to Lucie and Mathieu Dreyfus that he had "never seen a case like this." Jean-Denis Bredin has described him as being "swayed by a number of prejudices on the side of Dreyfus's accusers, [he saw only] violations of the law, the weakness of the charges, the risk of a horrific judicial error (…) [he would remain] the devoted lawyer of the Jewish officer (…) throughout every trial, sacrificing his career, until his task was completely achieved."

Before the Paris court martial from 19 to 22 December 1894, Edgar Demange managed to obtain that his first conclusions were read out prior to the closed-door session, and that the public understood that the authenticity of the bordereau was in question. Although his client found his defense speech to be elegant, it did not avert a heavy conviction; Dreyfus's sentence appeared to Demange as "the greatest infamy of the century."

On 12 February 1898, he testified at the Zola trial, stating that the law had been violated in 1894, but that without political will, light could not be shed on the Dreyfus Affair. He showed that it was a question of "the struggle between Semites and anti-Semites," although he himself was only concerned with the interests of his client. He denounced the illegality committed by the presentation of "the secret document" and had to explain himself before the Bar Council. Although the Paris bar stood out "through its active hostility to review," Edgar Demange benefited all the same from the charges being dropped, all the more so as he had spoken of the 1894 judges as having erred, but as being "the very picture of loyalty."

The lawyer's respect for the Army remained evident during the Rennes trial, and he used the benefit of the doubt to argue for acquittal for his client, who he stated "to be a martyr." Reinach wrote that he did not succeed in climbing up "the slope of iniquity." Although Demange requested the same communion in love of justice, the country and the army, it was the government commissioner who won, calling on the judges to convict based on their inner convictions.

Pleading for the Dreyfus family in defamation cases up until 1911, and celebrated for his fifty years at the bar by Bar president Labori, in November 1912 Demange had the honor of being reelected to the Bar Council by his peers. He died in 1925, having spent more than sixty years as a lawyer.

Edgar Demange (1841 - 1925)

Edgar Demange

Dreyfusard

Magistrats et avocats

Avocat du capitaine Dreyfus lors de ses deux condamnations, ses plaidoiries sur le doute n'ayant pas empêché les verdicts des conseils de guerre de Paris et Rennes, Edgar Demange était né à Paris en 1841.

Fils d'officier, ce juriste catholique, membre du conseil de l'ordre de 1888 à 1892, a obtenu l'acquittement du marquis de Morès après que celui-ci eut tué en duel le capitaine Mayer qui cherchait à venger l'honneur des 300 officiers juifs insultés par les antisémites. Son nom est suggéré aux Dreyfus par Waldeck-Rousseau et il accepte son rôle, sous réserve de ne pas trouver dans le dossier une charge pouvant le faire douter de l'innocence de son client.

Il n' a accès aux pièces accusant le capitaine que le 4 décembre 1894 alors que l'instruction est close ; il constate que les témoins à charge n'ont apporté aucun fait et confie à Lucie et Mathieu Dreyfus : « jamais je n'ai vu de dossier pareil ». Jean-Denis Bredin l'a décrit : « porté par beaucoup de préjugés du côté des accusateurs de Dreyfus (il n'a vu) que les violations du droit, la fragilité de l'accusation, le risque d'une effroyable erreur judiciaire (... il va rester) l'avocat tout dévoué de l'officier juif (...) à travers toutes les épreuves, sacrifiant sa carrière, jusqu'à l'accomplissement total de sa tâche ».

Devant le conseil de guerre de Paris, du 19 au 22 décembre 1894, Edgar Demange obtient que ses premières conclusions soient lues avant le huis clos et que le public sache que l'authenticité du bordereau est contestée. Si sa plaidoirie est jugée éloquente par son client, elle n'empêche pas la lourde condamnation ; celle-ci lui apparaît comme « la plus grande infamie du siècle ».

Le 12 février 1898, il témoigne au procès Zola et dit que la loi a été violée en 1894 mais que, sans volonté politique, on ne peut faire la lumière sur l'affaire Dreyfus. Il montre qu'il s'agit de « la lutte entre sémites et antisémites » alors que lui ne se préoccupe que des intérêts de M. Dreyfus ; il dénonce l'illégalité commise par la présentation de « la pièce secrète » et doit s'en expliquer devant le conseil de l'ordre des avocats. Si le barreau de Paris se signale alors « par son agissante hostilité contre la révision », E. Demange bénéficie tout de même d' un non-lieu, d'autant plus qu'il parle des juges de 1894 comme s'étant trompés mais étant « la loyauté même ».

Le respect de l'avocat pour l'Armée demeure patent pendant le procès de Rennes et c'est seulement au bénéfice du doute qu'il réclame l'acquittement de son client qu'il affirme « être un martyr ». J. Reinach écrira qu'il ne réussit pas à remonter « la pente de l'iniquité » ; alors qu'il demande une même communion dans l'amour de la justice, de la patrie et de l'armée, c'est le commissaire du gouvernement qui gagne en invitant les juges à condamner au nom de leur intime conviction.

Plaidant pour les Dreyfus dans des affaires de diffamation jusqu'en 1911, fêté pour ses 50 ans de barreau par le bâtonnier Labori, en novembre 1912, Me Demange a l'honneur d'être réélu par ses pairs au conseil de l'ordre ; ayant passé plus de 60 ans à la barre, il décède en 1925.