Ferdinand Brunetière (1849 - 1906)

Ferdinand Brunetière

Antidreyfusard

Journalists & intellectuals

A confirmed Dreyfusard with respect for France's institutions, and co-founder of the League of the French Homeland in December 1898, Ferdinand Brunetière was born in Toulon on 19 July 1849.

The son of a graduate of the Ecole Polytechnique and inspector for the Navy, Brunetière failed his exams at the Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS) in 1869 and 1870. He wrote for the Revue des Deux Mondes starting in 1875, and became the copy-editor from 1877 to 1893. Resolutely opposed to the naturalistic novels of Zola, he did not wish to have a personal opinion on Dreyfus's guilt. This former freethinker, defender of the Roman Catholic ideal, and member of the Académie Française since 1894 endorsed the idea that attacking the honor of the military weakened democracy. On 15 May 1898, he wrote: "when intellectualism and individualism become this infatuated with themselves, it means that they are or they will turn into anarchy, pure and simple."

He thought that the intellectual Dreyfusards were irresponsible and stated "The intervention of a novelist, even a famous one, in a question of military justice appears to me as out of place as a captain in the police force intervening in the question of the origins of Romanticism." Wanting scholars to yield "their logic before the word of an army general," he was the object of a hostile campaign in Le Siècle, which defended the sovereignty of conscience and "the possibility for a wise man to be right in the face of public error."

A year after founding it, Brunetière distanced himself from the League of the French Homeland; he continued the publication of eight volumes of Critical Studies on the History of French Literature; which drew the incisive judgment of André Gide: "What he supports is not always quite right, but it is very solidly established. One might even dare to say that it is all the better established for being less right." A few months after Dreyfus's rehabilitation, Brunetière died in Paris on 9 December 1906.

Ferdinand Brunetière (1849 - 1906)

Ferdinand Brunetière

Antidreyfusard

Journalistes et intellectuels

Antidreyfusard affirmé par respect des institutions et co-fondateur de la Ligue de la patrie française en décembre 1898, Ferdinand Brunetière était né à Toulon, le 19 juillet 1849.

Fils d'un polytechnicien contrôleur de la Marine, il échoue à l'École normale supérieure (ENS) en 1869 et 1870. Auteur pour la Revue des Deux Mondes dès 1875, il en est le secrétaire de rédaction de 1877 à 1893. Nommé maître de conférences à l'ENS en 1886, il est l'un des critiques littéraires européens les plus notoires. Adversaire résolu des romans naturalistes de Zola, il ne veut pas avoir d'opinion personnelle sur la culpabilité de Dreyfus. Académicien français depuis 1894, défenseur de l'idéal catholique romain, l'ancien libre-penseur soutient que porter atteinte à l'honneur de l'armée, c'est fragiliser la démocratie. Le 15 mars 1898, il écrit : « quand l'intellectualisme et l'individualisme en arrivent à ce degré d'infatuation d'eux-mêmes, c'est qu'ils sont ou qu'il deviennent tout simplement l'anarchie ».

Il voit dans les intellectuels dreyfusards des irresponsables et affirme : « L'intervention d'un romancier, même fameux, dans une question de justice militaire m'a paru aussi déplacée que le serait, dans la question des origines du romantisme, celle d'un capitaine de gendarmerie ». Voulant que les savants inclinent « leur logique devant la parole d'un général d'armée »; il subit une campagne hostile dans Le Siècle où est défendue la souveraineté de la conscience et « la possibilité pour un sage d'avoir raison contre l'erreur publique ».

F. Brunetière s'éloigne de la Ligue de la patrie française un an après l'avoir fondée ; il poursuit la publication de huit volumes d' Études critiques sur l'histoire de la littérature française s'attirant un jugement incisif d'André Gide : « Ce qu'il soutient n'est pas toujours très juste ; mais toujours très solidement établi. Oserait-on dire même : d'autant mieux établi que moins juste ». Quelques mois après la réhabilitation du capitaine Dreyfus, il meurt à Paris, le 9 décembre 1906.