Manuel Achille Baudoin (1846 - 1917)

Manuel Baudoin

Dreyfusard

Judges & lawyers

Manuel Baudoin was born in Tours on 26 June 1846. He was the public prosecutor for the second trial that ended in Dreyfus's rehabilitation.

A doctor of law who was married to the daughter of a councilor at the Rennes Court of Appeal, Baudoin was called to the Rennes bar in 1868, and then joined the magistracy in 1869, as an deputy public prosecutor. He held the same post in Quimper in 1871, and then in Rennes, where he was named assistant to the attorney general in 1878. As a prosecuting attorney in Lyon in 1880, he attracted attention by being "endowed with exceptional abilities" and "an intelligence that was both lively and penetrating."

Baudoin was public prosecutor in Limoges in 1885, and was appointed prosecuting attorney to the Court of Cassation for three years starting in September 1890. It was there that he celebrated, in 1892, the centennial of the Republic, and stated that the Court's judges should, with their decrees, contribute "to facilitating the glorious work that is the Republic and its rising path towards progress and freedom."

As president of the La Seine civil court, he was noted for his "passionate character, industrious almost to excess." Public prosecutor at the Court of Cassation starting in July 1901, he asserted in January 1904 that the forged and falsified pieces of evidence were created in 1899, and that none of the charges by which Dreyfus was convicted "seemed to hold up to scrutiny." Dreyfus judged his written brief to be lacking emotion, but remarkably well done. The Court's decree authorizing the case's review complied with his pleading; it was he who prepared "the triumph of truth and justice, which, though at times veiled and unknown due to weakness of the human spirit, nonetheless never dies."

In March 1905, his 800-page summing-up requesting that the verdict be overturned without appeal; it was voted in July 1906. He was appointed president of the Court in September 1911, and died in office on 23 January 1917. "Military funeral honors" were paid to this Grand Officer of the Legion of Honor at the request of the Minister of Justice René Viviani, who paid homage to his long career and "to the services rendered to Justice by this high magistrate."

Manuel Achille Baudoin (1846 - 1917)

Manuel Baudoin

Dreyfusard

Magistrats et avocats

Procureur général lors du second procès qui s'acheva par la réhabilitation d'Alfred Dreyfus, Manuel Baudoin était né à Tours, le 26 juin 1846.

Fils d'un magistrat qui présida la cour d'appel de Bourges et fut aussi procureur général à la Cour de cassation, Manuel Baudoin fut guidé par son père avec sollicitude et clairvoyance.

Docteur en droit, marié à la fille d'un conseiller à la cour d'appel de Rennes, cet avocat, inscrit au barreau de Rennes en 1868, rejoint la magistrature dès 1869, comme substitut à Châteaulin. Il remplit les mêmes fonctions à Quimper en 1871 puis à Rennes où il devient substitut du procureur général en 1878. Avocat général à Lyon en 1880, il y est signalé comme « doué d'aptitudes exceptionnelles » et d'une intelligence à la fois vive et pénétrante.

Procureur général à Limoges en 1885, il est avocat général à la Cour de cassation durant trois ans à partir de septembre 1890 ; il y célèbre, en 1892, le centenaire de la République en affirmant que, par leurs arrêts, les magistrats de la Cour doivent contribuer « à faciliter l'œuvre glorieuse de la République et sa marche ascendante vers le progrès et la liberté ».

Président du tribunal civil de la Seine, il y est signalé pour son caractère ardent, laborieux presque à l'excès. Procureur général à la Cour de cassation à partir de juillet 1901, il affirme, dès janvier 1904, que des pièces fausses ou falsifiées ont été produites en 1899 et qu'aucune des charges sur lesquelles Dreyfus a été condamné « ne semble résister à l'examen ». Son réquisitoire écrit est jugé par le capitaine comme manquant d'une note émue mais remarquablement fait. L'arrêt de la Cour autorisant la révision est conforme à ses réquisitions ; il prépare « le triomphe de la vérité et de la justice qui, pour être parfois voilées ou méconnues par suite de l'infirmité de l'esprit humain, ne meurent du moins jamais ».

Dès mars 1905, son réquisitoire écrit de 800 pages demande la cassation sans renvoi qui sera votée en juillet 1906. Premier président en septembre 1911, il décède en fonctions le 23 janvier 1917. Les « honneurs militaires funèbres » sont rendus à ce grand officier de la Légion d'honneur à la demande du garde des Sceaux René Viviani qui rend hommage à sa longue carrière et « aux services rendus par ce haut magistrat à la Justice ».